Westchase Law P.A. | A Private Law Firm

Call Us Today: 877-259-2394

  • Home
  • About
    • C. Todd Marks, Esq.
    • Kelly M. Albanese, Esq.
    • Paul M. Phillips, Esq.
    • Bianca Trevisan, Esq.
    • Staff
  • Practice Areas
    • Divorce Law
    • Family Law
    • Business Law
    • Estate Planning
    • Business Law
    • Commercial Litigation
    • Defamation and Reputation
    • Immigration Law
    • Real Estate Law
    • Personal Injury
  • Testimonials
  • Blog
  • Contact
  • Pay Online
Westchase Law P.A. | A Private Law Firm
  • Home
  • About
  • Practice Areas
    • Divorce Law
    • Family Law
    • Business Law
    • Estate Planning
    • Commercial Litigation
    • Real Estate Law
    • Defamation and Reputation
    • Real Estate Law
    • Immigration Law
  • Blog
  • Contact
  • Pay Online
877-259-2394

Sophisticated Solutions From A Caring Legal Team

  1. Home
  2.  | 
  3. Personal Injury
  4.  | 
  5. What are the Florida Car Insurance Requirements?

What are the Florida Car Insurance Requirements?

Westchase Law P.A. | Apr 18, 2013 | Personal Injury |

Florida drivers are required by law to maintain minimum insurance. While these limits are not very high, they must be maintained during the use of a vehicle.

The coverage that Florida requires is as follows:

  • For Personal Injury Protection (PIP): $10,000
  • For Property Damage Liability (PDL): $10,000
  • A deductible of up to $2,000 for PIP coverage and $500 for property damage liability can apply

What is PIP coverage?

Florida PIP is an important aspect of your car insurance. PIP coverage applies regardless of fault up to the limits of your policy. Because of this no fault aspect, the benefits of PIP apply to all parties including the person who is responsible for the accident.

PIP pays the following, up to the limits of your policy:

  • 80 percent of reasonable medical expenses
  • 60 percent of lost wages
  • $5,000 for death benefits

Important changes for Florida motorists

The most recent Florida PIP legislation requires accident victims to obtain treatment within 14 days for PIP to apply. In addition, an emergency medical condition must be shown for full medical benefits or there is a $2,500 limit.

While PIP can apply to medical expenses, costs of care after an accident can be exorbitant. Long-term care expenses can be crushing to families dealing with the aftermath of a catastrophic accident. It is smart to purchase additional coverage beyond the limits required by law.

Speak to your insurance broker to determine what appropriate levels and types of coverage would be best for you to carry. And in the event of an accident, do not hesitate to reach out to an attorney with auto accident experience.

Recent Posts

  • What Should You Do If Your Ex Doesn’t Pay Child Support?
  • How Child Support Calculated in Florida and Modifying Child Support Payments
  • Can Technology Improve My Florida Parenting Plan?
  • When Evidence Falls Short: What Adams v. Cox Teaches About Dating Violence Injunctions in Florida
  • Florida Court Discusses Relocation and Parenting Plans

Archives

Categories

RSS Feed

Subscribe To This Blog’s Feed

Contact Us For A Confidential Consultation

Westchase Law P.A. | A Private Law Firm

Address

12027 Whitmarsh Lane
Tampa, FL 33626
  Tampa Office Location

Telephone

877-259-2394

Social Media

  • Follow
  • Follow
Review Our Firm

© 2026 Westchase Law, P.A. • All Rights Reserved

Disclaimer | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw