Switch to ADA Accessible Theme
Close Menu
Tampa Divorce Lawyer
Schedule A Consultation Today! 813-490-5211 Hurricane Damage

Types of Alimony in Florida

Alimony is supposed to enable spouses who have not worked or who have lower incomes to maintain a standard of living similar to what they were accustomed to during marriage. In setting an award of alimony, Florida courts consider many economic factors.

The types of alimony that can be awarded in Florida include:

  • Permanent alimony. When a spouse has not worked, or has far lower earnings or income producing potential, and where the marriage is long term or medium term — or in rare cases, short term marriages of less than seven years — permanent alimony may be awarded to keep the spouse at the same standard of living.

  • Rehabilitative alimony. Generally awarded for short and medium length marriages, rehabilitative alimony provides assistance for a set time to enable a party to become self-supporting. A specific plan of rehabilitation must be presented to the court.

  • Durational alimony. When permanent alimony is inappropriate, durational alimony is awarded to give a party monetary assistance for a set time after a marriage of short or moderate length. No rehabilitative plan is needed.

  • Bridge-the-gap alimony. This type of alimony cannot be awarded for more than two years and is meant to ease the transition to post-divorce status.

  • Temporary alimony. The purpose of temporary alimony is to cover the needs of a party during the divorce until judgment is entered.

  • Lump sum alimony. This is a hybrid approach to alimony and can cover support or equalize the distribution of assets.

If you have questions about alimony in Florida, do not hesitate to reach out to a skilled family law attorney.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn